” Google updated its terms of service Friday to say that beginning Nov. 11 it has the right to sell adult users’ profile names, photos and comments in reviews and advertising.
Here’s how its “shared endorsements” would work: If you rate a product on Google Play or give a product a +1 (the Google equivalent to Facebook’s “like”), those actions can be shown to your friends and connections. So if you gave a +1 to your favorite fashion retailer, your mom might see an advertisement from that retailer that says you like it. Google is drawing that information from your Google+ account (and you might have one, even if you don’t use it).
In an online post, Google says the shared endorsements will only be seen by the people you have agreed to share content with, and that you still have control over what you share.”