Tag Archive: flight test


Balloon Launch And Pursuit For Your Viewing Pleasure

 

 

 

 

” As you read this, the Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator (LOHAN) team is preparing the test flight of our all-new custom rocket motor igniter.

We need to know once and for all if we can get a rocket motor to ignite at altitude, following our first pop back in July.

That ended with the igniter’s E-Match going bang, but with the Plastic Igniter Cord (PIC) failing to burn.

From around 14.00 UK time (13.00 GMT, 9.00 Eastern, 6.00 Pacific, 15.00 CEST), you can follow the launch and pursuit action live right here, and follow us on Twitter here.

There will be live snaps beamed from the onboard Raspberry Picam here, plus the usual live map here (Pan to M6RPI).”

 

 

Here’s more on this incredible project …

 

 

LOHAN Slowly Strips Lens Caps Off Hi-Def Imaging Arsenal

 

 

 

 

” It’s all go at the Special Projects Bureau’s mountaintop headquarters as we await the imminent delivery of our Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator (LOHANVulture 2spaceplane, currently being hewn from the living nylon down at 3T RPD Ltd.

We’ve got plenty to be getting on with while we wait for the bloke in the big white delivery van to roll up to the door, and we’re still fettling the aircraft’s fantastical flying truss launch platform. As part of that process, we’re pondering just how to mount a mighty imaging arsenal, which includes main cameras, back-ups and back-ups for the back-ups.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lijian Stealth Drone Prepares For Test Flight

 

The Lijian is described as the world's third stealth combat drone by the Chinese tabloid Global Times. (Internet photo)

 

 

” A newly designed Chinese stealth drone is ready for its first flight test after completing its taxi test last December at an unknown airfield in the southeastern province of Jiangxi, reports Duowei News, an outlet operated by overseas Chinese.

The prototype means China is ahead of several nations in the development of stealth drones, including Britain. Russia, India, Sweden, Italy, Iran and Israel, which also have their own stealth unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) programs.”